The State of Colorado has strict laws when it comes to Driving under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs (DUI) or Driving While Ability is Impaired (DWAI). The laws in Colorado in relation to DUI are similar to the DUI laws present in other states of the USA; however, the State of Colorado also observes a DWAI law that considers it illegal to drive with a lower BAC (blood alcohol concentration) level that’s lower than the majority of the states. If you have been charged with a DUI, DWAI or DUID (Driving under the Influence of Drugs) allegation, then it is important that you become well acquainted with the DUI laws in Colorado. Only a registered law firm in Denver can provide you with all the information that you need about DUI laws. Here is a detailed description of the different laws that are in practice in Colorado in relation to DUI cases.
|DUI Laws Colorado|
What are the BAC Limits in Colorado?
BAC limits or blood alcohol concentration limits in Colorado for individuals over the age of 21 is 0.08%. For a person under the age of 21 years, the limit is 0.02%. The BAC limit for the DWAI cases is 0.05%
The Penalties for DWAI and DUI cases
DWAI First Offense: For a DWAI first offense, an individual can be fined anywhere between $200 and $500; gain 8 points toward a license suspension; and may need to perform community service for up to 48 hours. Presumptive jail time may vary between 2 days and 6 months if the BAC levels are 0.199% or less and can extend anywhere between 10 days and 1 years if the BAC levels exceed 0.20%.
DUI First Offense: For a DUI first offense, an individual can have his or her license revoked for 9 months. The person may also need to pay fines anywhere between $600 and $1000 and serve jail time up to 1 year. The individual will also require performing community service up to 96 hours and enroll in alcohol education.
The penalties will increase substantially for each repeated offenses and may even require a person to opt for an ignition interlock device installed in the car. This will help in detecting the presence of alcohol on one’s breath, which, if exceeded a certain limit won’t allow the individual to turn on the car. The person can face penalties in case he or she tries to start the car after that.
Laws regarding the arrest
A person convicted of DUI or DWAI can be arrested if the person fails the roadside sobriety evaluation which might involve anything from answering numerous questions to standing on a single leg to touching the nose and walking on a straight line. The individual will then be handcuffed and transported to a county or city jail. The vehicle of the individual will be taken by a tow truck and impounded.
Express consent law in the State of Colorado
The Colorado consent law states that as a driver in Colorado you agree automatically for a chemical evaluation of your breath, blood and urine. In case you refuse to do so, your license can be revoked for a year.