Monday, March 30, 2015

Traffic Ticket Facts and FAQs Colorado

The State of Colorado has strict rules when it comes to traffic ticket regulations. An individual may be given a traffic ticket in case he or she breaks the mandatory laws associated with traffic rules as set in Colorado. 

A person may be given a traffic ticket for a number of reasons. These can include driving the vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Alternatively, you might be simply an unskilled driver who needs to take more driving classes. If you have been charged with a DUI case, a Denver or Arapahoe County DUI attorney can help you with your legal and court proceedings. For a more detailed knowledge about traffic ticket case in Colorado, check out the following Facts and FAQs section. 

How does getting traffic ticket influence the points on my Colorado driving record?   

In case you are found guilty or you plead guilty, the points are going to be added to your individual driving record. The total number of points added to your record will depend on the severity or intensity of the infraction. 

Can I request for jury trial in a traffic court?

If you have been charged with any infraction, you cannot put a request for a jury trial. On the other hand, if you have been charged with traffic offenses, then you have the option of submitting a request for a jury trial. 

Can someone else represent me or appear for me in the court?

An attorney licensed to practice law in Colorado State can only appear for you in the court. However, some courts may make it mandatory for you to appear on the court, depending on their own clauses. You can inquire with a presiding court to know more about this. 

If I am a minor (i.e. 17 years of age or below) and receive a traffic ticket for appearing in court, do I need to be accompanied by a legal guardian or parent?

Yes, as Colorado law makes it mandatory that any minor should be accompanied to the court by a parent or a legal guardian.

Are the traffic fines same in all parts of Colorado?

The fines can vary greatly depending on the town, county or court and the judge has the final word on this. 

How many points does it take the state to suspend my driver's license?

The following lists the points required for a driver's license suspension:
Minor drivers under 18 years of age:

  •  6 points in 12 months
  •    7 or more points for the validity period of a Colorado driver's license
Minor drivers between the ages of 18-21 years:
  •  9 points in 12 months
  • 12 points in 24 months
  • 14 points within the validity period of a license
Adult drivers aged 21 years or older

  •   12 points in 12 months
  •  18 points in 24 months

If you want to appear in the court of law and challenge your ticket, you need to hire the assistance of a traffic lawyer in DownTown Denver Colorado. Traffic Ticket Attorneys are well aware of the various traffic laws in the State of Colorado and can offer you the right guidance for getting your charges reduced or revoked. 

Image Source:- Memphisflyer

Wednesday, March 18, 2015

What is the Effect of Pleading Guilty in Colorado for DUI Case?

Have you been charged with DUI offence in Colorado and you are quite certain that you will be convicted by the law? Then you might consider pleading guilty as that will save you a lot of hassles and also the expenses associated with fighting the charge. According to the DUI laws in the state of Colorado, you can be charged with a DUI case if your BAC (blood alcohol content) reading is very high, i.e. .08 or more than that. A reading of 0.11 or 0.20 BAC will definitely get you convicted with a DUI offence. You can also be convicted with a DUI charge if a witness or a police officer testifies to your drunken state or you fail to pass the chemical tests and the sobriety tests, even with a BAC score less than .08.

If you have already decided to plead guilty for a DUI offence, you need the assistance of a professional lawyer who will represent you in the court of law. For this, the best thing for you to do is to get in touch with a law firm in Westminster Colorado that is well acquainted with the DUI Laws in Colorado State. A reputable law firm in Colorado experienced in handling DUI cases can offer you the best legal expertise in every step of the way. 

During your arraignment, you are likely to receive another date of court appearance when you can decide to plead guilty or go for trial. You can also choose to go for trail at this stage, considering the fact that at any time of the trail you can go ahead and plead guilty. If you think that there is a good chance for you to achieve success in the trial, then you can push for a trial instead of pleading guilty. At this stage, the judge might push you for the plea bargain. If you still resist the urge to plead guilty, then you will be asked to explain as to why you think there is a chance for you to win the trial. It is important that you maintain secrecy and discretion in relation to your trial strategy as this can make your case strong against the prosecution.   
In case you have already decided to plead guilty, you’re going to receive a form from your attorney or bailiff that practically waives off all your constitutional rights. The form will also contain several disclosures about possible punishments and penalizations. Sometimes a judge might read the details of the form to you in open court just to make you well aware of the various clauses of your case, so that you may not challenge the court later saying that you were not aware of your rights. 

You will be convicted of the DUI offence after you’ve pleaded guilty and the necessary laws will be applied to your case. It is very difficult to withdraw a guilty plea once you have confirmed to it, so it is important that you are very sure of what you are doing in relation to your particular case. A private DUI attorney who is handling your case can help you to make sure that everything about your case is in the right order.  

Monday, March 9, 2015

Felony Crime by Class & Sentences in the State of Colorado

Like all other states in USA, Colorado divided various crimes into misdemeanors and felonies. The felonies are considered more serious and are punishable by the prison terms of the state for a period of one year or even more. The misdemeanors are lesser crimes that are punishable by the local or county jail terms for a period of up to eighteen months.

Felony cases in Colorado can be designated under the classes between 1 and 6. Some felony cases remain unclassified in Colorado. In such cases, the sentence is decided according to the criminal statute. In cases where no penalty is fixed, the felony can be punishable by up to 5 years in prison as well as a monetary fine that can go up to $100000. 

The Colorado criminal code penalties have significantly changed over time. For this reason, if you or someone you know faces a criminal change, then he or she is advised to get in touch with a criminal defense attorney in Denver Colorado who is well versed with the latest models of criminal laws. The following criminal sentences discussed below are applicable to crimes that have been committed after July 1st, 1993.

Class 1 Felonies

The most serious or heinous crimes committed in the Colorado fall under the scope of Class 1 felonies, and are punishable by a life imprisonment sentence or death penalty. A first degree murder is a common example of class 1 felony. (Colo. Rev. Stat. § 18-1.3-401.)

Class 2 Felonies

According to Colorado laws, the Class 2 felonies are punishable by 8 to 24 years prison sentence as well as a fine of $5000 to $1000000. A common example of class 2 felony is a 2nd conviction for selling different types of Schedule I or II drugs. (Colo. Rev. Stat. § 18-1.3-401.)  

Class 3 Felonies

If a person is convicted of class 3 felony, he or she might face a prison sentence of 4 to 12 years as well as a monetary fine of $3000 to $750000. Patronizing prostituted children is considered a class 3 felony act. (Colo. Rev. Stat. § 18-1.3-401.)   

Class 4 Felonies

Class 4 felonies can be punishable by up to 2 to 6 years of imprisonment as well as a monetary fine of $2000 to $500000. Sexual assault cases generally fall under the scope of class 4 felony. (Colo. Rev. Stat. § 18-1.3-401.)

Class 5 Felonies

For all class 5 felony convictions, Colorado laws impose a prison sentence of up to 1 to 3 years as well as a monetary fine of up to $1000 to $100000. Theft of property is a common example of class 5 felony. (Colo. Rev. Stat. § 18-1.3-401.)

Class 6 Felonies     

Class 6 felony acts are least serious felonies, according to Colorado law, and can be punishable by 1 year to 18 months in the prison and a monetary fine of $1000 to $100000. Possessing of up to 2 grams of methamphetamine can be treated as an instance of class 6 felony. (Colo. Rev. Stat. § 18-1.3-401.). View in detail Colorado criminal sentencing guidelines.